Local organizations


Transportation
Sonoma County Bicycle Coalition www.bikesonoma.org
Sonoma County Transportation Authority (Governmental Agency) www.scta.ca.gov

Urban Land Use
Coalition Opposing New Gas Stations (CONGAS) www.con-gas.org
Greenbelt Alliance www.greenbelt.org
Sonoma County Transportation & Land Use Coalition www.sonomatlc.org
Petaluma Urban Chat www.urbanchat.org

Farms & Forests
California Alliance with Family Farmers
& The Farmers Guild
www.caff.org
Sonoma County Farm Bureau www.sonomafb.org
Fire Forward www.fireforward.org
Good Fire Alliance calpba.org/good-fire-alliance
Pepperwood Preserve www.pepperwoodpreserve.org
LandPaths www.landpaths.org
Sonoma Land Trust www.sonomalandtrust.org
Carbon Cycle Institute www.carboncycle.org
Marin Carbon Project www.marincarbonproject.org
Sonoma County Ag Safe Schools
Community Soil Foundation www.communitysoil.org
Petaluma Wetlands Alliance
International Wineries for Climate Action www.iwcawine.org
Sonoma County Resource Conservation District www.sonomarcd.org
Sonoma County Regional Parks (Governmental Agency) parks.sonomacounty.ca.gov
Sonoma County Agricultural Preservation and Open Space District (Governmental Agency) www.sonomaopenspace.org

Buildings & Energy
Building Decarbonization Coalition www.buildingdecarb.org
US Green Building Council — Redwood Empire Chapter www.usgbc-rec.org

Waste
Zero Waste Sonoma (Governmental Agency) www.zerowastesonoma.gov
Recology (Waste Collection Business) www.recology.com
Farm to Pantry www.farmtopantry.org
Slow Harvest www.slowharvest.org
Bounty Hunters www.petalumabounty.org/

Stuff We Buy
Sonoma County GO LOCAL Cooperative www.sonomacounty.golocal.coop
Sonoma County Farm Trails www.farmtrails.org
Slow Food Sonoma County North www.slowfoodsonomacountynorth.org
Slow Food Russian River www.slowfoodrr.org





More Local Groups broadly working on
Climate Change & Related Issues
(Many of these groups focus on several of the specific topics above.)

350 Bay Area (regional chapter) www.350BayArea.org
350 Sonoma (local chapter) www.350Sonoma.org
350 Petaluma (local chapter) www.350petaluma.org/
Alliance for a Just Recovery (AJR) www.northbayjobswithjustice.org
Climate Action Petaluma
The Climate Center www.theclimatecenter.org/
Climate Reality Project Bay Area Chapter www.climaterealitybayarea.org
Daily Acts www.dailyacts.org
ECO2School www.eco2school.org
Friends of the Climate Action Plan (FoCAP) Santa Rosa)
Healdsburg Climate Action
Leadership Institute for Just and Resilient Communities www.dailyacts.org
North Bay Jobs with Justice www.northbayjobswithjustice.org
North Bay Organizing Project www.northbayop.org
Sebastopol Climate Action www.sebca.org/
Sebastopol Carbon Conversations www.solarschoolhouse.org
SOCOArm in Arm (local chapter) www.arminarm4climate.org
Sonoma County Climate Activists Network (SoCoCAN!)
Sonoma County Climate Mobilization (local chapter) www.theclimatemobilization.org
Sonoma County Conservation Action www.conservationaction.org
Sonoma County Regional Climate Protection Authority (RCPA) rcpa.ca.gov/
SRJC Student Sustainability Coalition
Sunrise Sonoma County (local chapter) hubs.sunrisemovement.org
Working Group for Emergency Climate Action Now (WECAN)

More local organizations coming soon... Please check back.


What local organizations are missing?  

Share here relevant local groups, organizations or agencies that relate to climate work and that do not appear in the list above. If you represent a group listed above and would like to amend/correct your group's name or contact information, feel free to post a comment as well.

1200
Drag & drop images (max 3)
* Required information

Comments (5)

Gravatar
Posted by Suzanne Doyle(Sonoma County)

Could you please add the Sierra Club Sonoma Group to the list of orgs 'broadly working on climate change and related issues'?

Our website is: https://www.sierraclub.org/redwood/sonoma

Thank you,

Suzanne Doyle

Gravatar
Posted by Robin Moller(Larkspur)

Please add Climate Reality Project Bay Area Chapter to your list.

https://www.climaterealitybayarea.org/

Gravatar
Posted by Emmett Hopkins(Forestville)

Added. Thank you Robin!

Gravatar
Posted by SoCoCAN(Sonoma County)

name correction:

Sonoma County Climate Activist Network (SoCoCAN!)

Gravatar
Posted by Stevan Bosanac(Petaluma)

Please add 350 Petaluma and The Climate Center.

Thanks

Gravatar
Posted by Emmett Hopkins(Forestville)

Good catch -- Yes, I've added them both now. Nice website for 350 Petaluma, by the way.

Gravatar
Posted by Tanya Narath(Santa Rosa)

Please add a link to the Sonoma County Regional Climate Protection Authority (RCPA), https://rcpa.ca.gov/. Since we work on climate across all sectors, we should be listed under all categories except "Stuff we buy". Also would be great to include a reference and links to the climate action plans that each jurisdiction has adopted or is working on (e.g. Climate Emergency Resolutions, RCPA Sonoma Climate Mobilization Strategy, Petaluma Climate Action Framework, etc.) and links to local jurisdiction climate action committees (Petaluma, Santa Rosa, Sonoma, Sebastopol). RCPA could help compile this information if that would be helpful.

Thanks!

Tanya

Gravatar
Posted by Emmett Hopkins(Forestville)

Thanks, Tanya! Yes we definitely need to add RCPA. (We hadn't quite figured out where to put governmental agencies, so had them sitting on our spreadsheet... on my to do list.)

For now, I've put RCPA in the general climate category, which for the moment is where we're listing organizations that work across various categories.

I've also added a section for "Climate Action Plans" on the Resources page... until we figure out if there's another place that makes more sense to put them. I imagine Pete has most of the emergency resolutions at his fingertips, but if you have a working list of all these resolutions and action plans that you could send to one of us, that would be great. Thank you.